Twitter is finally allowing users to recover their locked accounts

After a year-long lockout, Twitter is finally allowing a number of its user to recover their locked accounts.

Twitter locked out several users when they suspected them to be not eligible, because of the new privacy law that came into effect on 25th May last year, which imposes that the user should not be underage (under 13) to use the social media platform.

Twitter had blocked numerous accounts because of the age restriction law.

But in this process, they also locked out those accounts which now claim to be old enough to use Twitter legally.

Regardless of this law, Twitter already had this rule stated on its platform that users under the age of 13 are not eligible to create account or post tweet, but still a lot of underage users did so.

But now, the new privacy laws (GDPR) has forced Twitter to take this issue seriously.

Twitter also have to come up with a technical solution to delete all the content like posts, tweets and DMs etc. that was published by the underage users who now claim to be old enough to use this platform legally.

Blocking the user's accounts were considered as an aggressive approach towards this case.

For example, another company TikTok was also charged because of the violation of U.S children's privacy law.

But they didn't block accounts of the underage users for months but deleted the videos created by the ineligible users and also added an age confirmation feature in the app.


The Company didn't care much about the case as they Emailed the Impacted Twitter users in June 2018 saying that they'd be in touch to notify about the new update regarding the problem but didn't discuss this ever, according to VentureBeat.

#Twitterlockout became trending last year several times and "Give us back our accounts!" became a usual reply by the impacted users on the post of Twitter's official account, whenever they used to share a new product.

According to Twitter support, the process of getting in touch with the eligible users have started.

They'll notify in phases, so don't worry if you don't get any email soon.

If you don't get any email then, Log In to your account and find the Get started button. You'll have to finish the process in 30 days.

In the process, the user has to allow the company to delete all the previously published data including all DMs sent and received, all tweets, likes moments (All the data that was published before the user was 13) except username and date of birth.

After the user gets back their account, the follower's count will be normal within 24 hours.

In order to proceed, the user has to confirm their email or phone number linked with the account.

Twitter is giving locked users their accounts back
Photo: Omar Marques/SOPA Images/LightRocket / Getty Images

Read next: Understanding Twitter's Timeline Algorithm To Make Your Brand Stand Out In 2019 [infographic]

No comments:

Post a Comment