Facebook hoax again making rounds – insist users to share bogus message

A Facebook hoax is again causing panic amongst the users by claiming that their private photos will be made public overnight.

Similar messages on Facebook timelines have been making rounds for many years. While the text varies, they contain an identical message – Facebook will make photos public unless the user copy-pastes a message that states that the user has not given permission to Facebook to access their pictures, information, messages, and/or posts. The status update also strictly forbids the social media company to disclose copy, distribute, or take any other action with the content.

However, all the messages circulating regarding the social media company are a hoax and Facebook does not own the copyright of any material posted by the user.

Hoax message: Don’t forget tomorrow starts the new Facebook rule where they can use your photos. Don't forget Deadline today!!! It can be used in court cases in litigation against you. Everything you've ever posted becomes public from today Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook's privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tacitly allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. FACEBOOK DOES NOT HAVE MY PERMISSION TO SHARE PHOTOS OR MESSAGES.


Nevertheless, Facebook does have the right to distribute and share any of the user’s content and there is no way a user can take away the privilege from Facebook by posting an update on their wall. Since the guidelines are stated on the company’s Terms and Conditions page, a user would have to stop using the social media network in order to disagree.

In response to the rumor mills, Facebook (in the past) has repeatedly clarified (several times) that the company does not own the content user posts. However, under the terms and conditions, Facebook is liable to use, distribute, and/or share the material without compromising the privacy of the user. In fact, the Users of Facebook are allowed to modify their level of privacy through the profile options.


And it goes without saying that users avoid reposting any hoax messages without receiving confirmation from the social media company itself. Stay updated with us at Digital Information World for any further updates as well.

Read next: Does Facebook Embed Tracking Data Into Your Photos?

No comments:

Post a Comment