Pages

Security Features From Google Drive Make Their Way Onto Google’s Collaboration Tools

Google, since its inception, is always gearing itself to protect users' data, and that may be one of the reasons why people across the globe use it as the go-to platform. Over the years, the tech giant spread out its roots to numerous applications and is not only recognized as a search engine. There are Google Docs, Drive, Spreadsheets and nearly every tool that one can think of! It is no surprise that Google is working on implementing security measures across all its devices. If you are worried about downloading a malicious file, then the new update is for you!

The platform recently announced that it would be introducing warning labels across all its workspace tools. This is to protect users from downloading malware-ridden files when making use of collaboration tools. Previously this tool was only available for Google Drive. Users often get the notification before downloading files off Google drive.

What makes this tool being available across all platforms essential? There has been a shift from physical to virtual presence, given the pandemic. Collaboration tools such as Google Workplace proved to be beneficial but, at the same time, came with the risk of being attacked by cybercriminals. Just last year, cybercriminals spammed the comment section of collaboration tools with malware-ridden links to users. The attacks became increasingly clever, and according to the researchers at Volexity, there is malware-ridden software designed explicitly for macOS systems. Once downloaded, it hijacks your computer and takes over your Google Drive. Google has introduced numerous security measures over the years. Their newest addition is the security banners across all its collaboration tools.

The update comes from none other than Google itself. They recently published a post on their Google Workspace blog notifying users of the new feature. Thousands of users worldwide appreciate the addition of warning banners across all collaboration tools. These security measures are not just for virtual workers but can prove to be very useful when collaborating on company grounds too! From now on, Google collaboration tools will be on the lookout for any suspicious files that may be present on the cloud-based engine. Once you are about to open it, a prominent red banner may come up with the label. The banner will display a warning highlighting the fact that the file is suspicious and your personal information may be at risk! The particular feature is of great help to flag and delete any files that came seemingly from nowhere on your system.

The feature will be rolled out over the next two weeks at random to users. Likewise Google Drive, users will be allowed no customization of the feature. It cannot be disabled from the settings. However, for now, the update will only be rolled out to Google Workspace users. It also includes Basic and Business users of the legacy G suite. The platform has not made any comments regarding the feature available for personal accounts; however, many reports that it will be released for personal users at a later date!


Read next: Getting sensitive ads in the middle of your browsing? Well, Google is out with a solution for you

No comments: