New WhatsApp Glitch Affects User Privacy

WhatsApp was one of the first messaging apps that gave users the option of seeing when someone they were talking to was online last. This has ended up becoming a pretty key part of the messaging platform, but some people took issue with this and claimed that it was an invasion of their privacy. This lead to WhatsApp giving users the option to turn this feature off, which meant that it would show when they were online but once they went offline no one would be able to see the last point at which they would have been using the app.

With all of that having been said and out of the way, it is important to note that there were quite a few users who felt like this feature was useful in a lot of ways. It can help create some legitimacy if you want to tell people that you haven’t been online all day after all, and at the end of the day this is a pretty important feature that a lot of people might want to use on a regular basis due to the reason that it forms a core component of their overall WhatsApp experience.

Hence, a new glitch might frustrate some users when it comes to WhatsApp. A big part of the reason why that is the case has to do with the fact that this glitch makes it so that you will no longer be able to show people when you were last online. This isn’t a major issue, but it does mean that people will have less control over their privacy, even if it is in some small way, shape or form. Users that try to change their settings are also seeing an error message, and this indicates a wider issue that might need to be addressed all in all.



Read next: WhatsApp tests new colors to the dark mode, plans to bringing support for video and voice calls on WhatsApp Web version

Featured photo: Twitter- Mirashra.

No comments:

Post a Comment