Pages

Google Is Introducing The Ability To Block Other Users, Especially Those Engaging In Spam Sharing, Across The Drive Platform

A new Google Drive feature will soon allow users to block accounts sending documents and the like that are filled with spam.

Spam's become a malignant force of menace on the internet. Starting out in the inboxes of users on sites such as Hotmail and Gmail, it's now gone on to envelop social media DMs, comment sections on YouTube videos. It seems that even more niche services such as the Google Drive aren't safe. How does one send spam on a platform that's purpose is to simply store and transfer useful files and information? Well, naturally, the answer is to stuff those very files to the brim with malicious and spammy content. It's honestly become a noticeable bit of bother for users relying on Google Drive as a clean, well-maintained online space that they can use for business official and otherwise. The answer to all of this? Well, how about we start by letting users at least block the infringing accounts.

This seems to be the eureka! moment that developers at Google have finally come across, as they introduce the new ability for users to block each other on Drive. How does this new-fangled technology work? Simple. All one has to do is, by relying on the right-click menu when hoisting over a user's email ID or shared files, select the block option. From there on, three things happen simultaneously. First of all, that user can no longer send further content to you, so no more spam! Secondly, whatever files they've shared all vanish as well, thus immediately decluttering your Drive inbox and making life a whole lot easier. And finally, even if you've previously shared content with this user, upon blocking it will be rendered inaccessible to them. Which means that if an associate of yours has their account hacked, or the like, collateral damage can immediately be managed and limited.

The ability to block off content sharing with users simultaneously also allows users to easily detach sensitive information from more predatory users as well. Many times has the tale of users discussing about how personal details got leaked due to a close associate having cloud access or some equivalent of it. Well, so long as you can spot the guilty party in time, that may no longer prove to be a problem.

The feature itself is expected to roll out in a few months. Until then, we suppose we shall have to wrestle with spam content while also making our Drive space come off as just the tiniest bit organized, yes?


Read next: Google has introduced a new feature for its Chrome browser to help users automatically change the stolen passwords

No comments:

Post a Comment