Microsoft Tracks Your Activity Even After You Refuse

Rumors began circulating on Reddit that you did not have the ability to prevent Microsoft from logging your activity. Normally, when a service provider wants to track your activities, something that they would want to do for a variety of reasons, they ask you if you allow them this access. If you refuse, it is assumed that there will be no record of your activities because it would be unethical of companies to do so in these situations. Microsoft, it seems, is not taking user permissions as seriously as it needs to.

The tech giant apparently records a history of your activities even after you refuse to give it permission to do so. If you want to see it for yourself, the process for doing so is quite simple. Once you enter settings and the privacy section of this app, go into activity history. You will find text that says “send my activity history to Microsoft”. You can deselect this if you don’t want your activity history going to this company. This option is usually not selected by default, you need to actively consent to it at least according to what is apparent on Windows 10.

Microsoft Keeps Track Of Your Activity Even If You Forbid It

However, if you go into your activity history, you will find a list of the various actions that you have performed on your device. This is true even if you don’t allow Microsoft to record your activity in the first place. This is proof that Microsoft is not taking user permissions as seriously as it should.

Microsoft Keeps Track Of Your Activity Even If You Forbid It

While you can clear your activity history, chances are that Microsoft has already received it, so doing so is unlikely to do you any real good. While Microsoft could potentially be keeping this history for diagnostic reasons, the fact remains that this is an underhanded way to do it.

No comments:

Post a Comment